Juncker Said to Be Planning Introduction of Euro by All EU Member States after Brexit

Finance | June 30, 2016, Thursday // 16:28|  views

European Commission President Jean-Claude Juncker. File photo by EPA/BGNES

European Commission President Jean-Claude Juncker is believed to be set on ensuring” that the euro is introduced in the EU member states still using their own national currencies in a bid to spur European integration after Britons voted to leave the 28-nation bloc, according to UK’s Daily Express.

Besides the United Kingdom, eight other EU member states haven't adopted the euro – Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Hungary, Poland, Romania and Sweden. 

Daily Express has also said that according to German newspaper Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitungthere are plans underfoot to accelerate the "completion" of the monetary union.

Bulgaria operates a fixed exchange rate mechanism called currency board, which curbs the conduct of independent monetary policy by the country's central bank and the pegs the national currency, the lev, at 1.95583 per euro.

Last year, Bulgaria’s government set up a council to propose a date for adopting the euro and draft a plan for introducing the single currency. The lev is not yet within the Exchange Rate Mechanism (ERM II), the euro's 'waiting room'.

We need your support so Novinite.com can keep delivering news and information about Bulgaria! Thank you!

Tags: Juncker, Bulgaria, European Commission, UK, Brexit, leave


» Related Articles: