Serbia Declares State of Emergency Over Floods in Fifteen Municipalities

Southeast Europe | March 8, 2016, Tuesday // 15:08|  views

An old man wades through a flooded village near Pozega, some 155 kilometers south-west of the capital Belgrade, Serbia, 07 March 2016. Photo: EPA

Serbian authorities have declared on Tuesday state of emergency in fifteen municipalities across the country due to floods caused by heavy rainfall.

This was announced by the Serbian interior ministry, Tanjug news agency informs.

Around 710 households have been inundated and 118 people evacuated.

State of emergency has been declared in the municipalities of Cacak, Novi Pazar, Kraljevo, Arilje, Lucani, Topola, Pozega, Bajina Basta, Ivanjica, Raska, Ljig, Raca, Kosjeric, Trstenik and in parts of Prijepolje.

Overflowing rivers have flooded homes in Ivanjica, Lucani, Gornji Milanovac, Arilje, Bajina Basta, Pozega, Cajetina, Bujanovac, Cacak, Novi Sad, Uzice and Kraljevo.

Serbian Prime Minister Aleksandar Vucic announced on Tuesday that the government will take measures to repair the damage caused by the natural disaster.

Vucic assured that the government will pass several decrees and by-laws regulating assistance and support for citizens of the flood-hit municipalities.

We need your support so can keep delivering news and information about Bulgaria! Thank you!

Tags: Serbia, flood, state of emergency, natural disaster, Aleksandar Vucic


» Related Articles: