Three Footballers from Bulgaria’s Golden Generation to Join Stoichkov’s Birthday Show

Sports | December 8, 2015, Tuesday // 11:02|  views

Three football players from Bulgaria’s golden generation will join the show celebrating the 50th anniversary of Hristo Stoichkov next year.

The first Bulgarian players to confirm their participation in the show are Nasko Sirakov, Yordan Letchkov and Lyuboslav Penev.

Together with Stoichkov, they were part of one of the most successful football generations in Bulgarian history.

These were the players behind the great achievements of the 1990s, when Bulgaria finished fourth at the 1994 World Cup and qualified for the first time at a European Championship in 1996.

The show entitled “50 years number 8” (after Stoichkov’s jersey number) will take place at the Vasil Levski National Stadium in Sofia on 20 May 2016.

The show will bring together Bulgarian and international football stars from the recent past and the present.

The participants will be split into two teams depending on whether they prefer to play with their right foot or rely on their left foot.

With the latest three players to confirm their participation, the number of participants has risen to thirteen.

The first to confirm was Argentinian legend Diego Maradona, followed by Colombia’s Carlos Valderrama, Romanian stars Gheorghe Hagi and Gheorghe Popescu, goalkeepers Jorge Campos (Mexico) and Jose Luis Chilavert (Paraguay), Chilean Ivan Zamorano and Italy’s Daniele Massaro, Gianfranco Zola and Antonio Benarrivo.

The remaining players will be announced in the coming weeks.

The tickets for the show can be purchased in the network of Eventim (online at, with the prices ranging from BGN 18.88 to BGN 88.88 depending on the seating arrangement.

We need your support so can keep delivering news and information about Bulgaria! Thank you!

Tags: Bulgaria, football, Vasil Levski National Stadium, sofia, Hristo Stoichkov, Lyuboslav Penev, Nasko Sirakov, Yordan Letchkov, Diego Maradona, Carlos Valderrama, Gheorghe Hagi, Gheorghe Popescu, Jorge Campos, Jose Luis Chilavert, Ivan Zamorano, Gianfranco Zola


» Related Articles: