Dijsselbloem Re-elected Eurogoup President

EU | July 13, 2015, Monday // 21:10|  views

President of Eurogroup, Dutch Finance Minister Jeroen Dijsselbloem gives a press conference after his re-election at the end of Eurogroup Finance ministers meeting in Brussels, Belgium, 13 July 2015. Photo by EPA/BGNES

Dutch Finance Minister Jeroen Dijsselbloem was re-elected Monday as president of the Eurogroup of euro zone finance ministers.

Dijsselbloem won another two-and-a-half-year term with the unanimous support of all Eurogroup members, according to a media statement of the EU Council.

The only other candidate for the post was Spain’s Economy Minister Luis de Guindos.

"I thank my colleagues for their support and cooperation and look forward to a second term as president of the Eurogroup," Dijsselbloem wrote on Twitter.

The announcement about Dijsselbloem’s re-election came hours after eurozone leaders reached agreement on a new bailout deal for Greece following months of negotiations in which the Eurogroup head played a key role.

We need your support so Novinite.com can keep delivering news and information about Bulgaria! Thank you!

Tags: Dijsselbloem, Jeroen Dijsselbloem, Eurogroup, euro zone, bailout


» Related Articles: