Ten EU Countries Oppose Proposal for Immigrant Quotas

Bulgaria in EU | May 19, 2015, Tuesday // 20:46|  views


Ten out of all 28 countries within the EU have stated that they will be opposing the proposal made by the European Commission regarding the imposition of quotas in the process of accepting illegal immigrants. 

The unconfirmed information has been revealed to RIA Novosty by an anonymous sources in the Council of the European Union. 

Among the opposers of the idea are Great Britain, France, Spain, Poland, Hungary, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania.  

The European Commission made the proposal with regards to the increased refugee influx in the member states in Southern Europe. According to the project there should be system implemented that will distribute the immigrants on a quota principle among other member states with regards to national GDP, population, unemployment levels and number of immigrants already residing there. 

The EU recently adopted a plan for control and prevention of people smuggling executed through the Mediterranean.  

It is currently expected that additional an 20,000 people will be emigrating to the EU from Africa in the upcoming two years.

We need your support so Novinite.com can keep delivering news and information about Bulgaria! Thank you!

Tags: Africa, Estonia, Czech Republic, Lithuania, Latvia, France, Great Britain, oppose, quotas, smuggling, immigration, Bulgaria, EU, immigrants


» Related Articles: