Bulgaria's PM Borisov Appoints More Deputy Ministers

Domestic | November 11, 2014, Tuesday // 18:50|  views

Bulgaria's Prime Minister Boyko Borisov. Photo by BGNES

Prime Minister Boyko Borisov appointed a total of fifteen ministers on Tuesday, the government's press office says.

Names have been proposed by ministers themselves, with Borisov having only the final say, under the coalition agreement he struck as leader of conservative GERB with the Reformist Bloc (RB) last week.

Filip Gunev, who held the Deputy Interior Minister's office in the interim cabinet, will have the same one in the elected government.

Orhan Ismailov, who has worked for the Files Commission (in charge of exposing former agents to the one-time state security organization DS), is now Deputy Defense Minister. The other deputy to newly-appointed Nikolay Nenchev will be Desislava Yosifova, who retains her post from the caretaker government.

Lilyana Pavlova's Ministry of Regional Development and Public Works will be assisted by two deputies, Ivan Tsanov and Denitsa Nikolova. The latter has worked for the recently restarted FLAG (Fund for Local Authorities and Governments) fund which suspended payments under projects after the EU Commission froze transfers made under the Environment Operational Program last November. Pavlova's third deputy is Ivan Asparuhov, formerly mayor of the town of Mezdra who ran in the last elections on ABV ticket.

Daniela Vezieva and Lyuben Petrov, both experts, will be Deputy Economy Ministers.

Boyko Penkov, Deputy Health Minister in the previous elected cabinet (the one that resigned in July), is again assuming the office, alongside Vanyo Sharkov, MP and Health Committee member between 2005 and 2013, in the 40th and 41st National Assembly.

Boil Banov, former caretaker Deputy Culture Minister, also keeps his position. The second deputy to Vezhdi Rashidov will be Boni Petrunova, the deputy head of the National Institute of Archaeology with Museum at the Bulgarian Academy of Science (BAS).

The Education Ministry gets a total of three deputies, with Kostadin Kostadinov, who heads Mechanics of Discrete Systems studies at BAS appointed to the office and two caretaker deputies, Vanya Kastreva and Nikolay Denkov, retaining their posts.

Krasimir Zhivkov, former governor of Sofia region, is now Deputy Minister of Environment and Waters.

On Monday some ministers also announced they would keep deputies from the caretaker government.


We need your support so Novinite.com can keep delivering news and information about Bulgaria! Thank you!

Tags: Boyko Borisov, deputy ministers, BAS, flag, EU Commission, Files Commission


» Related Articles: