Who Are Bulgaria's New Ministers?

Domestic | November 8, 2014, Saturday // 10:39|  views

Photo by BGNES

Bulgaria's Prime Minister Boyko Borisov and his cabinet involving participation or support from a total of four parties were approved and sworn in by the National Assembly on Friday.

Eleven of them are from Borisov’s centre-right GERB party, six represent right-wing Reformist Bloc (RB) and one comes from left-wing ABV party.

You can find more about them by clicking the links.

Borisov has four deputies – two from GERB and one from RB and ABV each.

Rumyana Bachvarova (GERB) is the new Deputy Prime Minister in charge of coalition policy and state administration, while Tomislav Donchev (GERB) will oversee absorption of EU funds and economic policy.

Former EU Commissioner for Consumer Affairs and current RB co-leader Meglena Kuneva is also vice-premier and is in charge of EU policies and institutional matters.

Former Socialist MEP Ivaylo Kalfin and current deputy leader of left-wing ABV party will be Deputy Prime Minister in charge of demographic and social policy.

Vladislav Goranov (GERB) who served as deputy finance minister in Borisov’s previous government (2009-2013), will take over the Finance Ministry, while RB’s Bozhidar Lukarski will be Economy Minister.

The Ministry of Economy and Energy, an super-institution that was in charge of overseeing the two sectors but also tourism, is now split into three: Economy, Energy and Tourism.

Temenuzhka Petkova is to oversee Energy while former caretaker Transport Minister Nikolina Angelkova has headed the newly-formed Ministry of Tourism.

Veselin Vuchkov, who was deputy interior minister in Borisov’s previous government, will be the new Interior Minister.

Lilyana Pavlova, who served as Minister of Regional development in Borisov’s previous cabinet, will take up the same post in the new government.

Borisov’s former Transport Minister Ivaylo Moskovski will hold the same portfolio in the new cabinet.

Former GERB MP and mayor Ivelina Vasileva heads the Environment Ministry, while GERB's Desislava Taneva gets Agriculture.

Krasen Kralev takes up office as Sports Minister.

The Culture Minister is now renowned sculptor Vezhdi Rashidov, who held the post in GERB's previous government.

The RB for its part is also represented by Daniel Mitov and Hristo Ivanov.

Mitov, the Minister of Foreign Affairs in the current caretaker cabinet led by Georgi Bliznashki, will carry on in the same position in Borisov’s cabinet.

Caretaker Justice Minister Hristo Ivanov will also retain his post in the coalition cabinet led by Borisov.

Other RB nominations in the new cabinet are Todor Tanev, Nikolai Nenchev and Petar Moskov.

Tanev is taking education and science portfolio, Nenchev will be Defense Minister, while Moskov will be Health Minister.

We need your support so Novinite.com can keep delivering news and information about Bulgaria! Thank you!

Tags: coalition government, ABV, Reformist Bloc, GERB


» Related Articles: