Parliament To Vote On New Government

Domestic | November 7, 2014, Friday // 07:36|  views

Bulgaria's National Assembly will vote on the new government formed by the two centre-right parties GERB and the Reformist Bloc (RB), plus one minister from leftist ABV.

Prime Minister would be GERB leader Boyko Borisov, who, if elected, would be the first in Bulgaria's most recent history to hold the position twice.

The government line-up consists of 18 ministers – 10 from GERB, 7 from the RB and one from ABV. The government will have four deputy prime ministers – two from GERB and one from the RB and ABV each.

Two of the caretaker ministers – those of foreign affairs and justice – are keeping their current jobs and will have the same positions in the new government. Both were nominated by the RB.

One minister will move from the transport ministry to the tourism ministry.

Two of the GERB ministers – of transport and of regional development – held the same positions in the previous Borisov government (2009 – 2013). Two deputy ministers are now becoming ministers – of finance and of interior affairs.

According to media calculations, the new government would be supported by 138 out of the 240 MPs. - Those of GERB, the RB, ABV and the nationalist coalition Patriotic Front (PF), plus one independent MP.

The two parties from the ruling coalition in the previous National Assembly - Bulgarian Socialist Party (BSP) and the ethnic Movement for Rights and Freedoms (DPS) will vote against. So will the left-wing nationalists Ataka and the centrist, as described by themselves, Bulgarian Democratic Centre, formerly known as Bulgaria Without Censorship.

We need your support so can keep delivering news and information about Bulgaria! Thank you!

Tags: government, Ministers, GERB, RB, ABV, National Assembly, Boyko Borisov


» Related Articles: