Referee Questions Second Real Madrid Penalty against Ludogorets

Sports | October 2, 2014, Thursday // 17:30|  views

Real Madrid`s Portuguese striker Cristiano Ronaldo (L) scores the 1-1 equalizer from the penalty spot against Ludogorets goalkeeper Vladislav Stoyanov (R) during the UEFA Champions League Group B soccer match between PFC Ludogorets Razgrad and Real Madrid

Former Spanish referee Juan And?jar Oliver has cast a doubt that the second penalty awarded to Real Madrid in its Champions League match against Ludogorets was well-grounded.

"The referee Craig Thompson drew two penalties in favor of Real Madrid in the first part, the first over Chicharito and the second over Ronaldo. In the first [case] there was indeed a pulling down of the Mexican, but in the secont the light contact of the defense with the Portuguese was not sufficient for drawing the maximum penalty," Oliver is quoted as saying by the website of Spain's prominent sports daily Marca.

Ludogorets' goalkeeper Vladislav Stoyanov saved the first penalty, but missed the second one, helping Real to tie 1:1 during the first half of the match.

Real Madrid defeated Ludogorets 2:1 in the match played on Wednesday in Bulgaria's capital Sofia.

We need your support so can keep delivering news and information about Bulgaria! Thank you!

Tags: Ludogorets, Real Madrid, Spain, Bulgaria, match Champions League, penalty, Juan And?jar Oliver


» Related Articles: