Four Balkan States Agree to Reduce Roaming Fees to EU Level

Southeast Europe | September 29, 2014, Monday // 18:36|  views

File photo

Montenegro, Serbia, Bosnia-Herzegovina and Macedonia have agreed on a gradual decrease of roaming charges for mobile communications.

The four countries will also demand from Brussels to consider changes to roaming prices for their citizens visiting the union, BGNES wire service quotes Serbia's Trade Minister Rasim Ljajic as saying.

For customers of telecoms in most non-EU countries in Southeast Europe, it is currently 10 to 20 times more expensive to call when abroad than it is within the EU.

The new agreement, however, allows a citizen of one of the signatories to pay lower roaming prices when in another of them.

Under the initial plans, a cost-free roaming zone could be established between eight Balkan states (the abovementioned, but also Albania, Bulgaria, Turkey and Kosovo) by January 1, 2015.

It is not yet clear whether the remainder which are presently not parties to the latest deal will take part in it.

In July, the European Parliament voted to abolish roaming fees within the 28-nation bloc by December 15, 2015. However, reports have suggested the move might suffer delays.

We need your support so can keep delivering news and information about Bulgaria! Thank you!

Tags: roaming, fees, charges, Serbia, kosovo, Bulgaria, Montenegro, macedonia, turkey, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Albania


» Related Articles: