Protesting Person Declared Bulgarian 'Politician of Year'

Domestic | December 21, 2013, Saturday // 14:06|  views

File photo Facebook

The Protesting Person has been declared Bulgaria's "Politician of the Year" 2013 in a traditional media poll.

The poll was held by Darik Radio and its website for the 18th consecutive year, where listeners and readers also selected street protests as the "Event of the Year."

Other contenders for "Politician of the Year" were Irina Bokova, Bulgarian 2nd term Director-General of UNESCO, Bulgaria's EU Commissioner Kristalina Georgieva, Prime Minister Plamen Oresharski and President Rosen Plevneliev.

According to the rules of the poll, people who have already been selected politicians of the year three times cannot participate any more. These are former President Georgi Parvanov, and former Prime Ministers, Boyko Borisov and Ivan Kostov.

Other events that have garnered the most votes are: the attack on the now-honorary Chairman of the liberal, predominantly ethnic Turkish party Movement for Rights and Freedoms (DPS), Ahmed Dogan, the early general elections, the choice of Neofit for Patriarch of the Bulgarian Orthodox Church, the war in Syria and the refugee crisis it triggered in Bulgaria.

We need your support so can keep delivering news and information about Bulgaria! Thank you!

Tags: Protesting Person, Event of the Year, Politician of the Year, Darik Radio, Rosen Plevneliev, Kristalina Georgieva, Ivan Kostov, Boyko Borisov, Georgi Parvanov, Irina Bokova, Plamen Oresharski, Ahmed Dogan, Neofit, war in Syria, refugee wave


» Related Articles: