EU's Border Surveillance System Enters Into Force

Bulgaria in EU | December 2, 2013, Monday // 14:02|  views

The European Border Surveillance System (Eurosur) enters into force on Monday.

The system aims at saving the lives of those who put themselves in danger to reach Europe's shores.

It will also seek to equip the EU and its Member States with better tools to prevent cross-border crimes, such as trafficking in human beings or trafficking in drugs, while at the same time detect and provide assistance to small migrant boats in distress, in full compliance with European and international obligations, including the principle of non-refoulement.

Eurosur is being established gradually, starting on December 2 with the 18 member states at the southern and eastern external borders including Cyprus, Greece, Bulgaria, Croatia,

France, Italy, Malta, Spain, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Finland, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Slovakia and Schengen associated country Norway.

The remaining 11 EU member states and Schengen associated countries will join the system from December 1, 2014 onwards

We need your support so can keep delivering news and information about Bulgaria! Thank you!

Tags: Border Surveillance System, EUROSUR, Schengen


» Related Articles: