New PM Starts Major Reshuffles in Bulgarian Administration

Domestic | June 3, 2013, Monday // 11:51|  views

Plamen Oresharski, photo by BGNES

Bulgaria's new Prime Minister, Plamen Oresharski, is starting this week a reshuffle in the so-called "second echelon of power."

The expectations are that as early as Wednesday, most of the Deputy Ministers and some Regional Governors will be replaced.

The National Health Insurance Fund, NZOK, will, most likely, also have a new boss, as doctors' organizations continue to demand the resignation of Dr. Plamen Tsekov from the post.

He was appointed by the formerly-ruling center-right Citizens for European Development of Bulgaria party, GERB.

His replacement is rumored to be the former NZOK Head during the term of the Three-Way Coalition Cabinet, Dr. Rumyana Todorova. Todorova is the sister of Bulgarian Socialist MEP, Iliyana Yotova.

The most likely new deputies of the Minister of Economy and Energy, Petar Chobanov, will be expert Kiril Ananiev and Luydmila Elkova, Deputy Chairperson of the Bulgaria for Citizens party of former EU Commissioner, Meglena Kuneva.

The leader of the youth branch of the Bulgarian Socialist Party, BSP, Yavor Gechev, is said to become Deputy Agriculture Minister, while Ivan Ivanov, a Colonel from the Reserves, is to be appointed Deputy of Defense Minister, Angel Naydenov.

Non-partisan experts will be sought for the Education Ministry and for the Ministry of Labor and Social Policy as well.

The Bulgarian Parliament approved on Tuesday, May 28, the country's new Cabinet tabled by Former Finance Minister, Plamen Oresharski, who was nominated for PM by the Bulgarian Socialist Party, BSP.

We need your support so can keep delivering news and information about Bulgaria! Thank you!

Tags: Agriculture Minister, regional governors, Ministers, Petar Chobanov, Minister of Economy and Energy, Yavor Gechev, Ministry of Labor and Social Policy, Education ministry, Angel Naydenov, Defense Minister, NZOK, Rumyana Todorova, Iliyana Yotova, Plamen Tsekov, GERB, DPS, BSP, Bulgarian Parliament, Plamen Oresharski, Rosen Plevneliev, GERB, Bulgarian Socialist Party, Cabinet, Kiril Ananiev, Luydmila Elkova, Bulgaria for Citizens, Meglena Kuneva, Ivan Ivanov


» Related Articles: