EU Chiefs Receive Union's Nobel Peace Prize

Bulgaria in EU | December 10, 2012, Monday // 15:59|  views

Norwegian Nobel Committee chairman Thorbjoern Jagland, EU Council President Herman Van Rompuy, EC President, Jose Manuel Barroso and EP President, Martin Schulz pose with the Nobel diploma during the Nobel Peace Prize 2012 award ceremony in Oslo, 10 Dec

European Council President Herman Van Rompuy, European Commission President Jose Manuel Barroso and European Parliament President Martin Schulz have received the 2012 Nobel Peace Prize in Oslo on behalf of 500 million Europeans.

"Europe has turned from a continent of wars into a continent of peace. Precisely because of this achievement, Europe deserves the Nobel Peace Prize," Thorbjorn Jagland, chairman of the Norwegian Nobel Committee and Secretary General of the Council of Europe, said at the opening of the 2012 Nobel Peace Prize award ceremony in Oslo on Monday.

EU's Nobel Prize medal will be kept at the House of European History in Brussels.

Four youths from Spain, Italy, Poland and Malta, the winners of an online drawing and essay contest on what peace in Europe means to young people, as well as heads of state and government of EU member states, attended the ceremony.

Bulgaria was represented by its Prime Minister Boyko Borisov, the Bulgarian Foreign Ministry press service said.

"The fact that the Nobel Prize money is to be used for humanitarian projects that benefit children who are victims of war and conflict, shows once again the power of the European idea of solidarity and co-operation," Bulgaria's Foreign Minister Nikolay Mladenov said.

He emphasized that for Bulgaria, today's award also means recognition for our efforts in the Balkans, which are fully in the context of the success of the European idea.

"To be not only an example of tolerance and good neighbourliness, but also a generator of stability in a difficult region, are the top priorities for our country," the Foreign Minister added.

We need your support so can keep delivering news and information about Bulgaria! Thank you!

Tags: EU President, Herman van Rompuy, European Commission, EC President, Jose Manuel Barroso, European parliament, EP President, Martin Schulz, Nobel Peace Prize, Oslo, Thorbjorn Jagland


» Related Articles: