9 Non-EU States Join EU Sanctions on Iran

Bulgaria in EU | November 2, 2012, Friday // 17:10|  views

A picture made available on 02 October 2012, shows Iranians in front of the shops in a bazaar in Tehran, Iran, 14 March 2012. EPA/BGNES

Nine "EU-aspirant" and "EU-affiliated" countries have joined the Union's recent ban on Iranian gas imports and banks.

EU candidates and EEA countries - Albania, Croatia, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Norway and Serbia – have now subscribed to the EU sanctions against Iran over the Iranian nuclear program, EU Observer has reported.

The publication comments that the move highlights a change in Serbia-Russia relations since Serbia is a former Russian ally and Russia has criticized the EU sanctions on Iran.

Western powers, including the EU and the US, have alleged that Iran's uranium enrichment program is geared towards producing nuclear weapons, a claim that the Iranian state has been rejecting as baseless.

We need your support so Novinite.com can keep delivering news and information about Bulgaria! Thank you!

Tags: Albania, Croatia, Iceland, Liechtenstein, macedonia, moldova, Montenegro, Norway, Serbia, EU, sanctions, Iran, Iranian nuclear program, Russia


» Related Articles: