4 EU Commissioners Arrive to Bulgaria

Bulgaria in EU | February 10, 2011, Thursday // 09:43|  views

EU Commissioner on Home Affairs, Cecilia Malmstrom, and three other EU Commissioners will visit Bulgaria Thursday and Friday. Photo by EPA/BGNES

Four EU Commissioners will arrive on an official visit to Bulgarian on Thursday and Friday to check the country's readiness to jointhe Schengen Agreement.

EU Commissioners on Home Affairs, Cecilia Malmstrom, on Health and Consumer Policy, John Dalli, and on Budget and Financial Programming, Janusz Lewandowski will arrive to Sofia on Thursday.

Malmstrom will meet with Bulgaria's President Georgi Parvanov, PM Boyko Borisov, Interior Minister Tsvetan Tsvetanov, Foreign Minister Nikolay Mladenov, Justice Minister Margarita Popova, and MPs.

She will also meet with representatives of NGOs and the business and will visit the Kapitan Andreevo checkpoint at the Bulgarian-Turkish border, in order to check personally Bulgaria's readiness for Schengen Accession.

Lewandowski will meet Thursday with Borisov and will take part in a public lecture of the Bulgarian Atlantic Club.

On Friday, he will meet with Finance Minister Simeon Djankov and will also hold talks with parliamentary committees.

The EU Commissioner on Health and Consumer Policy, John Dalli, will open a conference on electronic healthcare in Sofia on Thursday. He will also launch the start of the Bulgarian Food Safety Agency.

Dalli's schedule envisions also meetings with PM Borisov, Health Minister Stefan Konstantinov, Agriculture Minister Miroslav Naydenov, and Economy Minister Traicho Traikov.

The EU Commissioner for Industry and Entrepreneurship, Antonio Tajani, will arrive to Bulgaria on Friday to attend a conference on electric cars. He will also meet with PM Borisov and Traikov.

We need your support so Novinite.com can keep delivering news and information about Bulgaria! Thank you!

Tags: EU Commissioner, Cecilia Malmstrom, John Dalli, Janusz Lewandowski, Antonio Tajani, Boyko Borisov, Tsvetan Tsvetanov, Simeon Djankov, Traicho Traikov, Miroslav Naydenov, Margarita Popova, Nikolay Mladenov, Georgi Parvanov, Kapitan Andreevo, Schengen


» Related Articles: